How To Deal With Burnout As A Creator

With more “productivity hacks” and conveniences, some people are still feeling more burnt out.

Eric S Burdon
8 min readJul 25, 2024

--

It’s been nearly two weeks since I wrote a script spanning over 7,000 words. I wrote a good chunk of that late at night as one of those late nigh productivity bursts that I once in a while have. I kept writing and got lost in the work.

It felt good at the time.

In that moment, I decided to make this into a bigger project for my Youtube channel than “just another video”. The topic is significant for me and clearly it’s something that resonated with me deeply.

I want to do it right and offer something spectacular for this upcoming project.

I slotted it for the 7th of August and didn’t think much about it until this past weekend.

The pressure started to sink in and I realized that I had more scripts to write and to edit before recording those videos. This is on top of writing articles for my own brand.

I wouldn’t say I’m burnt out, but I’m starting to recognize the amount of work that’s required of me as a creator if I’m to make this a further lucrative business for myself.

--

--

Eric S Burdon

I write (and sometimes do videos) about self-help for those who don't like self-help. Complete with the occasional memes and riffs on the industry that I love.