Photo by Constantin Wenning on Unsplash

To Live Free Is To Do This One Thing More

We trip up on this all the time.

Eric S Burdon
6 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Have you ever had those weeks where people you haven’t heard from in a long time suddenly reach out to you? For me, it’s been a lot of that case this past week.

I heard from a few commenters of my articles today and saw some familiar people engaging with my content (thank you for that!).

But also in my personal life there’s been a good amount of that too. On Tuesday, I got an email from the business administration secretary from the university I attended asking whether I was still tutoring students. A few emails later and I’m officially back on the list of tutors, though I’ll be providing remote tutoring only.

And just yesterday, I reconnected with a former GoodLife trainer I was with for a time while they were still working at the facility.

With the start of this week feeling a bit dreadful and restrictive, it only took a slight change in my life for me to feel my usual optimistic self. Things still need to improve of course and there’s still the fact I can’t find work for the life of me, but I’m taking things one step at a time.

And I’m doing more of this one thing that we tend to forget to do. Or at least I tend to forget to do.

--

--

Eric S Burdon

I write (and sometimes do videos) about self-help for those who don't like self-help. Complete with the occasional memes and riffs on the industry that I love.